The most important meal of the day…

Skipping breakfast has been a habit of mine for around 7 years. When I was at school, I would usually oversleep, throw on my uniform and run out the door empty-stomached. This would usually mean that I was ravenous by 11am and would have to shovel down a sugary snack.

Fast-forward a handful of years, and Veganism & Yoga have completely changed my relationship with food and my body. For fear of sounding overly sickening, I’ll avoid delving too deeply into this, but I’ve never been so excited by food.

Well… food that isn’t breakfast.

Just like my school years, I’ll skip breakfast, get very hungry at around 11:30am-12pm and, after eating an early lunch, end up grazing throughout the day. So, for the first time in 7 years, I’ve decided to introduce breakfast back into my diet, starting with a whopping Green Smoothie Bowl:

img_0001

Blend banana, spinach & humbug pears and top with frozen berries, flax, chia seeds, oats & trail mix.

Although the science behind the (un)importance of breakfast is often scarce and contradictory, I’m hoping that it will ultimately improve my alertness, introduce me to new recipes & ingredients, keep any hunger pangs at bay, reduce snacking and give me something to look forward to first thing in the morning!

Bring. It. On.

P.S. For those unfamiliar with the humbug pear, here it is:

IMG_2098.JPG

Stripy fellow.

 

Leave a Reply

